Not just big firms to pay carbon tax

Ben Packham
The Australian

CITY councils, water authorities, a university and Melbourne’s glitzy Crown Casino are among at least 250 entities to pay the carbon tax from July 1.

The list of liable companies, released today, is dominated by big miners, manufacturers, energy companies, foundries and aluminium smelters.

But it also includes the Wagga Wagga and Brisbane City Councils, Melbourne’s La Trobe University, and Bega Cheese producer Tatura Milk.

Among the big names on the list are BHP Billiton, Alcoa, Anglo Coal, Bluescope Steel, One Steel, Xstrata, Rio Tinto and Caltex.

Companies outside the energy and resources sector include manufacturers Toyota, Kimberly-Clark, and Visy Pulp and Paper.

Also on the list are construction company Theiss, the Kilcoy Pastoral company, a number of cement companies, Melbourne Water and South Australian Water.

The Snowy Hydro company is on the list because it owns a retail energy company Red Energy.

La Trobe University will be hit by the tax because it runs a gas power generator on-site.

Read More: Not just big firms to pay carbon tax

This entry was posted in Agenda 21/Great Reset, Economics, Environment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.